Tellin' myself it's not as hard hard hard as it seems
Monday, 12 August 2003
12:54 am


Today was an ugly day. They're the worst sort of day, and are not coincidentally cyclical and associated with profound annoyance at people you work with, exhaustion, and a general feeling of wanting to watch a lot of television and drink Diet Coke. That, or listen to tragic songs. My poison today: Going to California. Sigh. California. Dear Robert Plant, singing to my hormonal soul.

One thing I do when I feel ugly is to wear bad clothes, and I get this overpowering desire to hide. One thing that seems to make sense at times like these is to hide one's head. This can be achieved by wearing a hat, maybe, or an Herm�s scarf, if you're so inclined and have an extra 300 bucks lying around. I went for a lower-budget and rip-off approach, myself. Since I might be a teensy bit in love with all things Isaac Mizrahi and he often wears a white version of the classic bandana on his crazy hair, I decided one late night at Wal-Mart that I should become a bandana girl. It's so sassy, so hip. Or maybe it used to be hip - I can never be sure in North Carolina. At any rate, I debated between white and orange for a good 8 minutes, and finally settled on orange, for my own statement, presumably. It cost $1.26. I still feel ugly today, even with it thwarting the escaping ugly from the top of my head, sort of like heat when you're camping.

Also I was thinking how many people lately have been asking how my summer's been, and as all these people are in some period of college matriculation, I just have to grimly answer that it's been fine, when, in fact, once you are a grown-up and don't have kids around which to base a schedule, summer is just weather, and this cute girl tonight was telling me about her summer in Boston where she met and fell in love with a darling landscape architect named Hugh. It's just been hot here. Also, sometimes I really wish I could live in Boston.

And can I just end by saying that I love how when you make a typo in Yahoo it ever so kindly asks at the top of the page, "Did you mean [correct spelling] instead?" It's just so polite, unlike me today.

We'll see if tomorrow is better. Goodnight, Robert Plant. I'll come see you in California.


<< last entry - next entry >>

join the notify list on the off-chance that I update:



archive
latest
email
host